December 7

It is Pearl Harbor Day.  On a Sunday morning, 71 years ago, the world changed forever.

It is also the reason why I am on this planet.  This event that took place 24 years before I was actually born, but it was the event which started a chain reaction that culminated in me.  But for Pearl Harbor,  my father would not have joined the United States Marine Corps.  In turn, after his stint in the war, he was sent to his last duty station in California.  There, he married his first wife, my older brothers were born and they later divorced.  In the meantime, my mother emigrated to the U.S. from Canada, following her parents who already immigrated the previous year, 1960, specifically. My parents met and not long afterward I arrived.

I could also point out that my mother’s involvement as in coming to California had as much of a role in my existence.  Well, it is true, since one needs both parties to exist, particularly since this was long before IVF.  However, I digress.  The reason my mother came to California from Canada was to follow her parents and younger siblings. The weather here was better for my grandfather’s health.  He had been a flier for the Royal Canadian Air Force and was badly injured during the war.  Same war, different theatre.  He needed to be in a warmer climate than the damp cold of Canadian winters. 

Given the addition of the latter scenario, I could also say that but for Germany invading Poland, I wouldn’t be here either.

Regardless of the reason(s) for my personal existence, I say “Thank you” to every single Soldier, Sailor, Airman and Marine who died on December 7, 1941.  Thank you for defending my country and my way of life.  And I wasn’t even a twinkle in my father’s eye yet.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “December 7

  1. robakers December 8, 2012 at 5:09 am Reply

    Simple actions have a way of changing history. Thank you for your comments.

  2. robincoyle December 10, 2012 at 10:12 pm Reply

    My dad told me on Pearl Harbor day that the event changed the direction of his life. He was 18 and working on the ore boats on Lake Superior. When he heard the radio reports of the bombing, he enlisted and went on to spend 20 years in the Navy.

    Do you live in California? I do!

    • kodonivan December 10, 2012 at 10:19 pm Reply

      Yes, I am in San Diego county. My dad’s last duty station was in Alameda, which is where he met his first wife. She was a WAVE at the time.

      • robincoyle December 10, 2012 at 10:27 pm

        I’m outside of Sacramento. My dad’s last duty station was Oxnard. Nice to know a fellow Californian!

Leave a Reply

